Swarming time

Last year we caught a swarm on our road on 20th April. And it was a good productive one. Although that was early, we heard reports of other swarms at that time. So keep an eye out for swarms from mid April…

I thought I saw a car pass me on the last Sunday in March(!) with a smoking smoker hanging out the window, as if a beekeeper had caught a swarm and was rushing back to his apiary without waiting for the smoker to go out.

My top tip is, swarms are heavy: we cut a branch with it on, and I was taken by surprise by the weight and dropped it. (On my wife, holding a box below.)

This entry was posted in Swarms and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment ...

