Another swarm!

As you know I’d decided to leave the cluster in the wall to sort themselves out and decide what they want to do. I was gardening just now near the main hive and thought the bees were becoming rather loud. And out came another swarm! This time I was able to watch them, it was magical – their dance in the sky and fizzing around the branch they had chosen to land on, not far from the hive. This is completely inaccessible, unless I was a tree surgeon – high up in a silver birch tree. But….maybe they will go into the other Warre hive? I know they were looking at it. I sat by the hive as they came out, a lot of nasanov fanning and drones stumbling about on the ground as if they’d just been thrown out of a bar. I picked up a few and they polished their whiskers, they seemed to be OK going back in when I put them on the landing board. I worried that maybe they were all leaving, but looked inside and there still seem to be plenty in there. I can’t believe that they’ve produced two swarms, and this one is much larger.

This entry was posted in Swarms, Warré and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another swarm!

  1. Lynne says:

    One of our hives also swarmed again today – I think that’s the third or fourth cast it has made now. Ours was a small swarm, and went to the very top-most part of next-door’s fir trees where we couldn’t retrieve them. We decided not to worry and just wish them well. Like proud parents waving kids off to university. Hope they make it ok.

    Like

Leave a comment ...

