Natural beekeeping course, 29th-30th March

Gareth is holding another course for beginners – see here for details and contact info.

Having been on his courses, I can heartily recommend them. They cover everything to do with basic bee husbandry except honey processing – he doesn’t take honey from his hives. There are opportunities to examine Top Bar and Warre hives. Class sizes are small and individuals’ questions are answered in detail.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Natural beekeeping course, 29th-30th March

  1. solarbeez says:

    “He doesn’t take honey from his hives”. I love it. Whenever I tell someone I’m a beekeeper, the next question is ALWAYS, can I buy honey from you? Honey always seems to be the main focus, almost as if something is weird with you if you don’t harvest it.
    I wonder if Gareth is going to talk about ‘brood breaks.’ I mentioned that to someone in my bee club. “The queen sometimes takes a break from laying brood in the summer. You don’t have to replace her, just wait awhile.” The bee classes that I have attended always say to replace the queen when she stops laying. I say, give her a break! (and it might break up the mite cycle too)

    Like

Leave a comment ...

